Saturday 19 October 2019


Claudelands Arena
Cnr Brookyn Rd & Heaphy Tce
Claudelands Show in Google Maps

Contact Details


Cost and Booking

Tickets can be purchased online
or at Hamilton i-SITE


Jun Märkl Conductor
Samuel Jacobs Horn

German-Japanese conductor Jun Märkl conducts a spring concert that includes an exciting new New Zealand work and some popular classics.

Te Māpouriki by New Zealand composer Kenneth Young was commissioned as part of the NZSO Cook’s Landfall Series to mark 250 years since the first encounters between Māori and European settlers.

Mozart’s vigorous Paris Symphony is a informative example of Mozart’s versatility.

Strauss’ first horn concerto, written when he was just 18 is still a popular work today and will be performed by NZSO principal horn Samuel Jacobs.

The concert will finish off with Mendelssohn’s concert overture Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage which is based on two poems by Goethe, and Schumann’s Spring Symphony, which was written in just four days.