Tuesday 29 September 2020 6:00 PM - Wednesday 30 September 2020 7:30 PM


The University of Waikato
Gate One, Knighton Road
Hillcrest Show in Google Maps

Contact Details

University of Waikato

Cost and Booking



This event is brought to you by the University of Auckland and University of Waikato

Across party lines, who are the Ethnic women participating in NZ mainstream politics?

Hosted by the Ethnic Women in Politics (EWP) project at the University of Auckland and University of Waikato, the ‘Meet the Ethnic Women Candidates: NZ Elections 2020’ webinar series features two panel discussions with women candidates from minority ethnic communities who represent the major political parties in the upcoming 2020 New Zealand elections. The use of the term ‘Ethnic’ is defined as non-Māori, non-Pacific and non-Pākeha.Globally, we are observing an increased spotlight on women leaders from minority ethnic groups, often as voices of resistance to and transformation within established political systems.

In New Zealand, a growing number of ethnic women are entering the sphere of mainstream politics. These panels are an opportunity to kōrero about their identity, politics, aspirations, challenges, and the impact of their presence in politics on ethnic women in the community.

The webinars will span over two panel discussions on two consecutive days. There will be a seperate eventbrite registration page for both discussions.

29 Sept - 6pm - 7.30pm Online Event
First Panel Discussion Overview - 'Young, Millennial and Ethnic'

The first webinar is entitled ... 'Young, Millennial and Ethnic'.
Featuring four young ethnic women participating in the elections for the first time.

- Rimu Bhooi: Candidate for Hamilton East, Green Party
- Nuwanthie Samarakone: Candidate for Manurewa, National Party
- Zahra Hussaini: Candidate for Christchurch, Labour Party
- Ciara Swords: Candidate for Whangārei, TOP Party

30 Sept - 6pm - 7.30pm Online Event
Second Panel Discussion Overview - 'An Established Race'

Featuring four ethnic women seeking re-election to parliament.

- Golriz Ghahraman: Member of Parliament, Green Party
- Anne Degia-Pala: Member of Parliament, NZ First Party
- Dr Parmjeet Parmar: Member of Parliament, National Party
- Priyanca Radhakrishnan: Member of Parliament, Labour Party

You will need to register via eventbrite for both online events. Once registered you will receive in your confirmation email the url link to join the discussion.