Preview

When

Thursday 9 July 2020 10:00 AM - Thursday 9 July 2020 12:00 PM

Where

Hammond Park
Malcolm Street
Riverlea Show in Google Maps

Contact Details

Gerard Kelly
Phone:
Mobile: 0212862066
Fax:
Email

Remnant Swamp Maire and Pukatea Forest Restoration Project.

PLEASE BE AWARE DUE TO COVID-19 LEVEL 1

PLEASE do not attend if you have any 'flu' like symptoms.

Gerard Kelly (Community Planting Co-ordinator) ph 0212862066 It is very important for us to track all participants for any future contact tracing purposes.

Hammond Park is a regionally significant remnant of indigenous forest that occupies a terrace adjacent to the Waikato River in Hamilton City.

This floristically diverse riparian margin is home to a range of species such as the rare native long-tailed bat, swamp maire, tui, bellbird, glow worms and ruru (morepork) to name a few.

The bush area 'hangs' between the upper scarp and lower scarp, or cliff face, which falls to the river. The landform features surface and subsurface water flows in this area that has to lead to the characteristic swamp or semi-swamp forest type.

A key feature of this site is a small population of swamp maire (Syzygium maire), which has become locally and regionally rare.

The Riverlea Environment Society Inc (RESI) are undertaking a forest and riverside restoration project based on a report by the Centre of Biodiversity and Ecology Research (CBER) 'A Restoraiton Plan for Hammond Bush' for Hamilton City Council.

The objectives of this group are to protect and enhance the environment as well as other amenity values of the area. The group engages with local government organisations on matters of planning and resource consents or processes that may impact the quality of life in this area.

For further information, see the website.

Contact: Paula Smith
Email: conservation@resi.org.nz

Dates:

Thu 9 Jul 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 23 Jul 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Sat 25 Jul 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 6 Aug 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 20 Aug 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Sat 29 Aug 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 3 Sep 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 17 Sep 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Sat 26 Sep 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 1 Oct 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 15 Oct 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 26 Oct 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Sat 31 Oct 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 12 Nov 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 26 Nov 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Sat 28 Nov 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm

Thu 10 Dec 2020, 10:00am-12:00pm